oi! oi! oi! vey…

March 29, 2006

I seriously considered converting to Judaism when I was 12. This was just after the ill-fated pony phase, but still some time before I cottoned on to homemade hallucinogens and arson. My family are, by and large, a well-intentioned bunch of heathens, but it only took a couple of pool parties at the Horowitz's for me to become infatuated with the stern-looking men who range the streets on weekends like gunslingers, black coats a-flapping. That was before they told me I didn't get a hat, of course.

The appeal is not as far-fetched as it sounds. If the Old Testament was an album, it would be something by Priest. Or Sabbath. Something Heavy. Something Apocalyptic. Something Metal. If the New Testament was a band, it would be… The Carpenters. NTOTB. I don't think I need to spell it out any further. Besides, I don't think anyone is still reading.

None of which explains my – entirely respectful – fascination with Matsiyahu, "the Hasidic Reggae superstar". Honestly. The hairy holy-roller gives the The AV Club an interesting glimpse into what it means to Keep The Faith without dropping the beat:

The A.V. Club: What do you do when you have a night off during a tour?

Matisyahu: I have a chavrusa, a friend that I learn with, who I talk with over the phone. So I'll be speaking with him, and I have a couple meetings and interviews. I think there's the possibility of some bowling happening at some point.

'Purimpalooza'. That's funny.

~*~

Hava Nagilah, AV Club. Read more about Matisyahu at Nextbook. And while you're there, check out anything by Shalom Auslander. I have a bit of a crush.

2 Responses to “oi! oi! oi! vey…”

  1. geekspin said

    Hey,

    I first heard of Matisyahu a couple months ago on the Dawn and Drew podcast, Drew plays the odd track on there from time to time, and I must say I like what I hear.

    Mention of Matisyahu has been popping up all over the place it seems, today when I signed into Pandora he was a featured iTunes artitst.

    Cool stuff!

  2. barbedwire said

    Hey! I thought I heard an echo from the cheap seats…

    The guy is everywhere – omnipresent, you might say. And because I'm nothing but a lazy bandwagon jumper, I thought I'd better give him a mention. Plus, I hear he created a couple of golems to sing backup in his next music video – and who doesn't love a singing golem? Seriously though, I find him genuinely interesting, if not as snappily dressed as, say, 2 Live Jews.

    Conrad, I haven't forgotten about continuing our blog /RSS / plugin / whatsit discussion – I've just been vrek besig. But I'm on it, I swear…

Leave a Reply

