hell-bent for celluloid

April 27, 2006

High School wasn’t that bad. It was there that I first became known – affectionately, even – as 'The Ice Maiden', skirted expulsion a couple of times, and attracted the first in a short, but tenacious, line of boys whose conversational output consisted almost exclusively of excerpts from the Monty Python Parrot Sketch, underscored by some ambiguous hand gestures and laboured breathing.

I move in much more sophisticated circles now. And I find I'm attracting interest from rather more cultured quarters – men who share my obsession with bruising guitars and moving pictures – heavy metal cinephiles, if you will. Or, in layman's terms, those whose conversational output consists almost exclusively of dialogue from This is Spinal Tap, Rock Star and Heavy Metal Parking Lot, punctuated by satanic hand gestures and a worrying post-nasal drip. Progress at last.

Scot McFayden must shoulder some of the blame, of course. The Guardian chats to the reluctant heavy metal auteur about his latest movie, and probes cinema's ongoing fascination with sweaty men in leather trousers. There's also a bit about a dragon called Denzil.

The most prosaic reason for metal's popularity with film-makers may simply be its popularity. In the Recording Industry Association of America's list of the 100 bestselling albums of all time, it is easily the best-represented genre: almost half the records in the list are metal albums. As McFadyen and Dunn's forthcoming film hopes to make explicit, it is a musical phenomenon with genuine global reach. "24 Hour Party People was a cool film, but for all that music was lauded and hailed as cool and groundbreaking in England, it's still largely a cult Anglophile thing anywhere else around the globe," says Brannigan. "But make a film about the guy from the Judas Priest tribute band joining Judas Priest and it's got a real resonance with a huge swath of the population."

~*~

Hail and Kill, rocknerd.

 

16 Responses to “hell-bent for celluloid”

  1. *ugh* They’ve been threatening the Will Smith thing for years; I was SO hoping it wouldn’t turn out.
    What’s WORSE?
    New York?
    NEW YORK?!?
    I’ve read that book at least 5 times, New York isn’t mentioned at all!
    I AM LEGEND……action movie……*UGH*.
    How much you wanna bet that they’ll not only use parts of the Omega Man script, they’ll have Heston make a cameo?

    Fuckin Hollywood.

    “The Ice Maiden” huh?
    That is SO hot.

  2. barbedwire said

    If we’re really lucky, maybe Julia Roberts will co-star. And I bet Will takes his shirt off at least once.

    Tragic.

  3. Are you kidding, after Smith and the special effects they’ll have to go with Monica Potter.
    Looks exactly the same at a 3rd the cost.

    He’ll take off what shirt?

  4. barbedwire said

    Please. I was depressed enough to begin with.

  5. I know your bloggy here is about music and such, but explain the “Ice Maiden” thing.
    I’m bored.

  6. barbedwire said

    Jerk, I’m pretty sure it means the same thing over in your country that it does here.
    I’m lazy.

  7. It means “a woman who will fly halfway around the globe just to make hot, passionate love with a guy she met over the internet through a blog devoted to ripping on the crap that Hollywood vomits out” THERE too?

    Well bring it on you sexy “Ice Maiden” you!
    I bet you’ve got a dreamy accent. MmmmmmZilla.

    You know, flirting with/annoying you isn’t as much fun as I thought it would be. I am finding your blog interesting though. Now, there are even more bands that I’ve never heard of and I’ll never listen to like Casette.

  8. barbedwire said

    Who is this 'internet guy' you speak of – is he hot? How's his spelling and punctuation? Will you introduce us?

    It's never fun to flirt with me, Jerk – as everyone who has ever tried will confirm.

    And don't feel bad about not having heard of most of the bands I mention – imagine how bewildering I find American music sites. I mean, Destiny's Child, Justin Timberlake, 50 Cent, Danzig – who the fuck are these people and why would anyone want to listen to them?

  9. How DARE you bunch Danzig in with those others!

    I think you’re really a sweet gal underneath that hard crusty shell.
    Sweet or soft and doughy, I can’t figure out which.

  10. barbedwire said

    Thanks for making me sound like a month-old Krispy Kreme.

    You’re wrong, of course.

  11. barbedwire said

    Jesus, Jerk. Get a hobby.

    I can’t wait for Ash to get back.

  12. Whoa, you really are kinda “Ice Maiden”-ish aren’t you?
    Um….I’m jokin around Barb.

    Maybe I’ll see ya ’round WHEN Ash comes back.
    🙂

  13. barbedwire said

    Ha! You buckle far too easily, Jerk.

  14. Please….you TOTALLY fell for that.
    Pfft, as if I’m going to leave you.
    I’m your bestest friend now that Ash is gone.
    I know you kinda like me, and that you enjoy our banter.
    Even if my punctuation sucks.

    Besides, for all I know you’re Chalize Theron’s MUCH better looking cousin. How could I just walk away?

  15. barbedwire said

    You'll make a fine stalker someday – you have all the attributes, including a wild and fertile imagination.

    That said, I can't help noticing that you are the only visitor around here that actually speaks to me, so I'll hold off on that 'cease and desist' notice for now. Or at least until I get out of prison.

    Now, if you’ll excuse me – I have some rubble to pile.

Leave a Reply

