you can’t fight what you can’t see

May 11, 2006

So, what happens when one of my favourite online reads calls attention to an interview with the author (who also edits a magazine I know I should like but secretly find tedious) of a book I recently really enjoyed, published by a company I've really come to admire and respect – possibly, ok mostly, because it's headed up by a guy I once lusted after without knowing what he looked like simply because he played bass in a post-hardcore band that seduced and amused me all through the 90s, but also because the people he works with are not only seriously awesome, but infinitely patient, even when I fuck-up my online purchase and they have to give me a refund?

You read this interview, that's what.

2 Responses to “you can’t fight what you can’t see”

  1. Fatman said

    Interview read. Don’t know if the book about punk hair is my kind of thang but ‘The Boy Detective Fails’ actually seems fun. Like a cross-between Chabon’s ‘The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay’and Chris Ware’s ‘Jimmy Corrigan’.

  2. barbedwire said

    I can’t believe anyone actually read the interview after that mind-numbing intro. I also can’t believe more authors don’t introduce comic books, golems and Nazis to their plotlines – just think how much more credible ‘The Da Vinci Code’ would be if it featured a destructive lump of clay. I loved ‘The Amazing Adventures of…’.

    ‘Jimmy Corrigan’is one of the graphic novels I’ve always meant to order, but, you know, my Amazon wishlist is so frikken’ long already.

Leave a Reply

